Russia bans entry to 100 Canadians including Jim Carrey


Image via @IMN_Music_News Twitter


The list of 100 Canadians who are prohibited from entering Russia has been expanded, according to the Russian Foreign Ministry, and now includes actor Jim Carrey.


Author Margaret Atwood, journalists, politicians, and Christopher Brown, the top international correspondent for CBC, are among the 100. They join a lengthy list of Canadians who have already been denied entry to Russia, including Chrystia Freeland, the deputy prime minister and minister of finance, and Jason Kenney, the former premier of Alberta.

Only the notice in Russian was included in the list, which was published on the website of the Russian Federation’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs.


“In response to the ongoing practice of imposing sanctions by the regime of Prime Minister J. Trudeau against the Russian leadership, politicians and parliamentarians, representatives of the business community, experts and journalists, cultural figures, as well as anyone whom the Canadian Russophobic authorities consider objectionable, entry is closed on the basis of reciprocity for 100 Canadian citizens,” the Google translation read.


Nearly 1000 Canadians, mostly politicians or journalists covering the Russo-Ukrainian War, are currently on the continuously expanding list of foreigners prohibited from entering Russia.